Collier Street Baths
Collier Street Baths is a Grade II* listed building, The Italianate brick building on Collier Street, was designed by Thomas Worthington, who is considered one of Manchester’s greatest 19th century architects.
When opened in 1856 by the Manchester and Salford Baths and Laundries Company it was used by 3,476 people in the first two weeks and was considered one of the finest pools in the country. It was at the beginning of a golden age for public swimming and was used by 50,000 a year at its peak, Mark Addy one of Salford’s famous sons rescued more than 50 people from drowning, learned to swim there.
For decades it has crumbled and has been neglected in a forgotten corner of Salford. The laundry, boiler house, and chimney have been demolished, the pools tiles have gone, and the building has no roof. Yet McKay’s has found this abandoned gem a constant source of interest. His work focuses on elements of the building’s exterior architecture reflecting its palette, beauty and splendour.